Crackdown 2 is more of the same (Thank God)

I bought Crackdown solely because I wanted to play the Halo 3 Beta that Microsoft had tied to it in a GENIUS marketing move. At the time I remember being a little annoyed that they were using my love of Halo to make me buy their silly little “cops and robbers” Grand Theft Auto rip off.

I was eleven kinds of wrong and now some years later I still bust out Crackdown from time to time while Halo 3 sits covered in dust in my basement.

When I heard that Microsoft was releasing Crackdown 2 and that it was “NEW AND IMPROVED” with ZOMBIES, I was annoyed. Why screw with something as easy as Crackdown.  You are essentially a damn Superhero in an open sandbox.  That’s all I have ever wanted in a Sandbox game. Give me a cave, a car and a bunch of gangs to take out. Then leave me alone for a few hours. Sure Arkham Asylum is a great game, but Crackdown is the Batman game I WANTED.

I am happy to report after 2 hours of playing Crackdown Deuce that the magic is back and the Zombies don’t screw it up too bad. Sure the city is a mess, roads all busted up, bridges out, etc.; but it’s actually kinda fun to go to all the locations I know so well from the first game and see what’s happened to them. Artistically, it must have been a lot of fun to take a digital paintbrush to that world and turn it into a wasteland.

Is the Zombie storyline dopey? Pretty much, but whatever –  it ain’t supposed to be Hamlet and it doesn’t stop me from doing whatever I feel like at a given time.

I have a car, a rocket launcher, and I can leap about 35 feet in the air. As video games go, I don’t really need a whole lot more.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

