Apocalypse Now. (Finally)

About a year or so ago, my internet friend April Winchell mentioned that she had just finished voicing Granny Goodness for a new Batman Animated Movie.  I was in the process of interviewing her for this very site and was incredibly excited to know ANYONE remotely related to an ACTUAL Batman project.  She told me NOTHING else about it and this is EXACTLY what I wrote about it on this site: “April Winchell is voicing a character in a new Batman Animated Movie – What are YOU doing?” Believe it or not, that one line was enough to get the Warner Brothers legal team awfully upset and so to protect my friends rep, I changed the line to “April is doing something so cool today – I can’t even talk about it!” Pretty crazy eh? I mean would it have made ANY difference to ANYONE ANYWHERE that we BROKE the story that there was a new Batman Animated film in production? There is ALWAYS another Batman Animated film in production. Hey – guess what? Right now as you read this; there is another Batman Animated film in production.  Long story short, April was replaced by Ed Asner who had played the role on the old Superman Animated series and so now she is credited as Reporter# 3 or something. In all honesty; she would have been better. Lou Grant comes off as Granny Drag Queen in this.  Just saying.  Okay – enough of my nonsense, you want to know if this direct to DVD flick is worth your hard earned cash so lets get into it Pro and Con Style.

PROS: With the exception of Granny Goodness, the voice talent is spot on.  It’s great to hear Tim Daly and Kevin Conroy together as the Big Blue Boyscout and the Dark Knight. Summer Glau as Supergirl is a welcome addition.  The pacing is pretty good, and the action is solid.  Superman and Darkseid have a fight that makes the Doomsday dust up look like a slight misunderstanding over lunch money.  The animation is gorgeous.  Bruce Timm and company have been doing this for a while now and it shows.

CONS: The biggest issues with these direct to DVD adaptions of stories already told in comic book form is the editing. Both Marvel and DC suffer from this affliction. There is simply not enough time in an hour and ten minute movie to give all the history and background required to evoke an emotional reaction from the audience.  I don’t want to spoil any of the plot but more often than not in these, I find that the books really “connect” with me while the movies come off as if they are just “describing” a book and not really “telling” the same tale.  Maybe they should come up with some original plots for these to combat this.

All in all, I liked it and if you’re a fan it’s worth picking up on Blu Ray.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Animation, Comic Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

