Luckily they “Ironed” things out.

This is the kind of stuff you just can’t make up.  First off- big thanks to  Trevor for tipping me off to the intense controversy surrounding Steam Punk Iron Man. He wins a totally cool TRON LEGACY poster for being such a good citizen!

I’ll bring you up to speed quick – the guy in the pic on the left is Steam Punk Iron Man. The poor bastard was MOBBED everywhere he went at NY Comic Con last month.  I kid you not – they must have thought there was a Jonas Brother in that thing because I don’t think he got to walk 2 feet without somebody stopping him and FREAKING OUT over the epic coolness of that costume.  I saw him in the lobby of the Javit’s center as I was heading out to lunch and when I came back an hour later he was still in the SAME spot.  So cool was his cos-play creation that he actually won the Marvel Costume Contest. So pretty cool right?  Well guess what? That costume he is wearing was actually created for a Fan Film about the Wizard of Oz.  It gets crazy on the other side of the jump. I know what you’re thinking; Somebody made a Wizard of Oz Fan Film? Well yes my friend, I could not tell you WHY, but I can confirm that it is so.

“Just found out that the Tin Man suit was taken and modified into an “Iron Man” suit that won the costume contest at the NY Comic Con by my ex assistant. The suit was changed without my knowledge or permission and I’m royally angered by this action. It’s also sad to see that the only screen used version of the suit that exists, is now a cheapened knock off of a popular character. I don’t get people anymore and it makes me want even more to become more reclusive.”

THAT my friends is a post made on something called The Effect Lab Forum by increasingly more reclusive  “Heartless – The Story of the Tin Man ” Production Designer Bill Johnson. Obviously he was absolutely INCENSED that his lowly assistant , Matt Silva would have the audacity to take his incredibly important (yet oddly cheap knock off of a popular) character costume and change it into something people might actually LIKE.

So why am I posting this on the website today?   Because apparently some time later Bill and Matt got together to talk about it and Bill posted the following update on the forum:

“I had a long talk with him and we ironed things out.”

He said other stuff too but SO WHAT? He said they IRONED THINGS OUT. About the IRON MAN COSTUME He was not being funny or wry or slightly ironic about it because he goes on to ramble about what an important piece of history he felt the Tin Man suit was and how now it would be gone for future generations of self aggrandizing lunatics to enjoy in it’s virgin form. Okay – I’m paraphrasing now but still. Matt Silva ROCKS. You can watch the Heartless – Story of the Tin Man trailer below but I’ll be honest with you – if they made a Steam Punk Iron Man Fan Film, I would pimp the hell out of it.

Promise.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books, Comic Con, Marvel Studios, Movies, Posts with Video Goodness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

