You Better Get Ready for New-Gen: Part One

I was standing at the top of the escalator near the front of the NY Comic Con Dealer section when I first saw her.  Dressed in her green and black leotard with her mask and steely resolve it was obvious that she was here to fight for something. The question was . . . what? Was she a hero or a villain? A victim or a savior? Our eyes met and we stared at each other for what seemed like eternity but was really just a scant 3 seconds or so…

She had noticed my press credentials in those three seconds and quickly surmised that I might be able to provide her the answer to an important question . . . she moved closer and parted her lips to speak.

“Do you know who I am?”

“I’m afraid I don’t…”

“Dammit. Neither do I. I’m trying to figure out who this character I’m dressed as is.  It’s hard to act like somebody if you’re not sure who they are. Here, have a comic book.  Maybe I’m in it.”

She handed me a comic book and started to head off as Jobu arrived.  I asked her to take a picture with him for my “2011 Brother Jobu Cos-Play Calender project” and she graciously agreed before bounding off to “find herself”.

“Who was that?”

“I have no idea . . .” I dropped the book into my backpack and we went on our way.

Little did we realize we had just had our first encounter with an incredible New Generation of Heroes, and a very exciting family business…

NEXT:  Late to the Party.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Animation, Comic Books, Comic Con, Marvel Studios, Movies, new gen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Better Get Ready for New-Gen: Part One

  1. Pingback: NEW-GEN sits down with Geek Propaganda! | A.P.N.G. Enterprises

Leave a Reply

