Kill Shakespeare is like Lord of the Rings meets Star Wars meets . . . Shakespeare!

I just finished reading the brand new  IDW Graphic Novel collecting the first six issues of Conor McCreery,  Anthony Del Col and Andy Belanger’s romp through the Bard’s sandbox.  The best thing I can say about it is that it is about a hundred and seventy pages cover to cover and I absolutely could not put it down until I had reached the last one.  And it was only at that point that I realized there are TWELVE issues in total and I must now find the last six as soon as possible. Seriously. It’s a quarter to ten in NY right now. If I thought my local comics shop was open I would be there laying down cash in an effort to learn how the tale ends.

Canadian writer Anthony Del Col was cool enough to send me a copy of the graphic novel and if I didn’t think it would make me seem like an ugly American I would call him up right now and be like : “HOW DOES IT END? WHAT HAPPENS NEXT? COME ON MAN – I GOTTA KNOW !!!” Truth be told I still might . . . what the hell time is it in Canada?

I’m not going to lie to you – this book is not for everyone, Frank Miller’s girlfriend doesn’t like it one bit. To be fair, I don’t think I have ever had much interest in Frank Miller’s girlfriend’s opinion on anything so I am not going to let it sway me here either.

Do you have even the most ancillary interest in Shakespeare? Are you even vaguely familiar with Hamlet, Macbeth and the House of Capulet?  Like adventure tales with swords and knights and blood thirsty wenches hungry for revenge?  If you shook your head yes at all while reading that last sentence then you should pick up Kill Shakespeare: Volume One – A Sea of Troubles.

Now excuse me while I go wake up a Canadian . . .

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

