"Spiderman, Spiderman, falls 30 feet to the bottom of an orchastra pit and gets taken away in an ambulance . . ."

Dear Julie Taymor, Please stop trying to kill Broadway performers.  I did not want to have to be the one to tell you this but the reason people keep getting hurt in your new play, Spiderman – Turn off the Dark is that; listen carefully here – SPIDERMAN IS NOT REAL ! Tossing actual HUMANS around in the air on wires and expecting them not to occasionally plummet to the ground needing medical assistance is not realistic.  I am beginning to think that this play is less about entertainment and more about exposing the need for Obamacare on Broadway. Please go back to turning Billy Joel songs into modern dance showcases or turning Disney cartoons into puppet shows. There are too many lives at stake here . . . Also please take a moment to stifle a chuckle at  actress Natalie Mendoza’s self important Tweet about the accident:

“A light in my heart went dim tonight, please pray for my friend Chris ; my superhero who quietly inspires me everyday with his spirit.”
Can somebody tell these people that heroes are getting hurt for reals in Afghanistan and Iraq and that being “quietly inspired” by a dude in Spiderman pajamas falling toward workers compensation to the music of  Bono and The Edge just comes off as tacky? Maybe she is still recovering from the concussion SHE got working on this show.
I hate to be a jerk but enough already. How many actors are going to get hurt before we need the ACTUAL Spiderman to show up and stop this thing?
This show has cost 65 Million dollars thus far. I wonder how much of that went directly to Orthopedists. Just saying.
About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

