Psychoslash Comic Book Reviews: Week Three

Here we go dear readers, once more into the void!

I was a bit delayed this week thanks to ice storms in the northeast that left the Psychocave iced over and made it difficult to pick up the comics I wanted to review.  But finally, here we go.

Avengers #9

Like I said in my first review, I was excited to see the confrontation between Captain Rogers and Iron Man, but I have to say that it left me wanting. Don’t get me wrong, this issue was good, but Iron Man has been keeping the Illuminati a secret for years, and yet the only one that seems mad was Captain. Everyone else just let them have their bitch fest, and Thor was trying to play mediator. Come on, I wanted to see more anger, more conflict, but it was just an awkward conversation. Ok, with that rant behind me, the rest of the issue shaped up pretty nicely. It showed how the Hood was able to get out of prison, find out about the Infinity gems, and how he was able to get the powers he wanted back. To be honest I didn’t like the Hood when he first came onto the scene, but he continues to be one of the best villains that Marvel is showcasing now. With the Avengers themselves, past the Captain and Iron Man bitch fit, I like that now, after everything that happened, Tony Stark is starting the road to redemption with the rest of the Avengers. It should be interesting to see if they keep him on the team, or if after this arc he is kicked out like Cap said. Because of the bitch fit I give this 3 out of 5, but I’m still looking forward to the next issue of this story.

Green Arrow #8

This comic has been one of the most interesting titles that DC has been putting out lately. Green Arrow is on a road to personal redemption, and at first he didn’t even know it. Now he is taking responsibility for the white lantern forest, and through his protecting of it has gathered comrades, or as DC is hinting at, his merry men. In this issue, Arrow and Galahad are roaming the forest, and find Jason Blood. Blood is separated from Etrigan, so the beast is loose, and trying to destroy Blood and everything else he can get his hands on. This was a great fight, with Blood finally showing his own ability to fight the beast. Just as the big throw down was about to happen between former one that became two, the Phantom Stranger shows up to hopefully get rid of Etrigan, although I’ll have to wait till next issue to find out for sure. So far I think Arrow’s merry men are shaping up rather nicely, and I can’t wait to see his whole band together, hopefully in a couple issues. I give this 4 out of 5 because it was good, but I’m hoping it gets a little better.

Uncanny X-Force #4

The hunt for the resurrected Apocalypse comes to an end in this issue, as the rag tag group does their best to work as a team. I really loved this issue because it had just about everything I could want in this title. The team was split up, so you had weird team ups, and a very odd scene with Deadpool trying to nurse Archangel back to health. Lets just say I don’t think Deadpool tastes like chicken. The climax of the issue comes when the whole team reaches this boy that is Apocalypse resurrected, and with Archangel on the verge of losing it and killing everyone, most of the team decides not to kill the boy, but to raise him and hope they can make him of use to mutant kind. With everyone arguing about what to do with the boy, all the sudden he’s shot in the head, and everyone looks over to see Fantomex having shot the boy. What was great was the fact that no one was mad about, they understood it needed to be done, and Fantomex just did it. I really like this title, and I think it will continue being one of Marvel’s best titles. I give this issue a 5 out of 5. What? The French judge gave it a 1. The French don’t know comics, so yeah…. Probably a dated joke.

Batman Beyond #2

DC keeps taking Batman Beyond away, then bringing it back. Either take it or leave it, quit playing with my emotions. That said, I was very worried about this new arc because the villain just didn’t make sense. He was evil, yet not, yet you should pity him, too many emotions for this villain. This second issue solved that. First, it gave us a look at Batman beating the crap out of the new Justice League, and old man Bruce Wayne is watching it getting excited about Batman beating up the Justice League again. Oh yes, what a great time when Batman could take out any Justice League member because he trusted no one. Why is that Batman not in a present day comic? That’s besides the point, but after Batman decides to then take control of the Justice League to save his family in the mall, we see the confused villain come into his own and become Matter Master. This villain could be good, and I can’t wait for the next issue to see the future Batman actually act like a badass, more so than some present day Batmen I know. I give this issue a 4 out of 5. Lets see more of Batman beating up Justice League members more often.

Ultimate Doom #2

I know I haven’t touched on the Marvel Ultimate universe before, but this Ultimate Doom is making me get back into it! (I gave it up after Ultimatum) I feel like the Ultimate universe is finally getting back to some interesting stories, and not just rebuilding after Ultimatum, or fighting vampires, like every other media genres on the planet…….DAMN YOU TWILIGHT!!!! Sorry, ranting again. Ultimate Doom is taking some of the best remaining parts of this universe; like Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, and Nick Fury; and making a story about Reed Richards trying to recreate the world in a better image. See, that’s interesting. Reed becoming a villain makes me want to read. Plus the reforming of the Thing into a being of energy and making him be in love with Sue adds some great twists. I can’t wait to see the next confrontation between Reed Richards and combined forces of the better Ultimate Universe characters left. Lets just hope they don’t kill off everyone……again. I give this issue 3 out of 5 because Ultimatum still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Lets hope this comic changes my mind.

On a side note, I have created a Twitter, so if you would like to converse with me on Twitter, or debate (prepare to be put in your place) just find me on Twitter: @Psychoslash.

(Thrown smoke pellet and I’m gone)

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

