All Star Supermeh.

The newest direct to DVD DC/Warner Brothers Superman animated movie, ALL STAR SUPERMAN is easily the best looking one they have done yet.  It does not however have the best plot.  At all. By a long shot.  The problem is probably NOT with with the source material (which I admit I have not read) by Grant Morrison and drawn by Frank Quitely.  That book ran for 12 issues from 2005 to 2008 and all throughout this beautifully animated film I got the distinct feeling that a MUCH larger story was being “glossed over quickly” to ram all the “cool stuff” into it in the time allotted.  The end result is a flat almost dull Superman devoid of soul and a story that feels emotionally weightless.  I’m not saying it’s not a quality Superman animated product – because again – it LOOKS great; in the end it’s just not terribly satisfying.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Animation, Cartoons, Comic Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

