Wizard Lives!

I’m not going to lie to you.  When Wizard announced a while back that they had stopped production of the magazine in print but were going to move to a digital medium at some point in the future I thought it was likely that we had seen the last of the comics culture monthly.  At the height of it’s popularity I liked reading Wizard more than I liked reading the comic books it covered.   It was always more than just a comic book magazine. It was funny and actually had led (in a roundabout fashion) to the creation of my favorite show of all time; Robot Chicken. Every single month I found some article that got my geek juices going whether it was about a new crossover event or an upcoming movie, or brand new action figure exclusive to hunt for.   I was surprised today to get  the heads up from Publisher Gareb Shamus that the first digital issue was ready to go and available to be downloaded via the iTunes App store for the very reasonable price of “free”.    The interface is a little “wonky” in that rather than just saving it as an epub file in iBooks, you have a Wizard “store” where the magazine is stored  and launches from.  Launching the magazine took longer than I expected it too, but once it lit up my iPad there was no denying that THIS is the magazine I’ve missed.  I was afraid for a moment that this was just going to be a bunch of advertisements for Wizard World’s traveling Comic Con tour but it has some great varied content and feels more like the original  magazine than the last couple of actual print issues did.  In it’s new format it’s also a weekly as opposed to a monthly which should keep the content timely as well.  This is really pretty cool and it’s exactly the kind of thing I had hoped for when I bought an iPad in the first place. Geeks rejoice! Wizard is back and it feels like old times !

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

