1978 Mego Catalog Re-imagined

Growing up in the 1970s and 80s I was a HUGE fan of MEGO superheroes. I had every Batman Character ever produced and my Grandmother actually started a strange Christmas tradition one year of buying me Mr. Spock. Every year. For at least 5 years.  Twice I also got Mr. Spock for my birthday. I had 7 Mr. Spock Megos at one point.   Today I have two Megos.  The Joker and the Penguin. Both gifts from my wife. They sit holding hands together on a black couch on one of the shelves in my basement. Honest. They do. I have included a picture to prove it.   I am not entirely certain why they hold hands but they seem happy so I won’t judge. There. That being said; I have always wanted to collect more Megos but to be honest they tend to be expensive if they are not broken and naked.  Instead of actually buying them I spend time reading about them on sites like Megomuseum.com.  I do this because I am both a Geek and a Nerd.

Recently the folks who run the Mego Museum Website have gotten together with all of the incredibly talented Mego Customizers who frequent their forums and created a fantasy catalog of the never produced 1978 line of Mego Toys . . . It’s like a “what if” issue for Toy Collectors.  What if Mego had made Star Wars toys? What if The World’s Greatest Superhero Line had expanded? If you like Megos (and as we have already covered – I do) you’ll like this.  You can check it out for yourself here.

We’ve been given a copy of the awesome catalog to give away and you can WIN it by visiting the Mego Museum,  looking around and then posting a link to your favorite page on our Facebook Page!  How cool is that?

Actually, It’s pretty cool.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

