Comic Life for iPad is Awesomeness you can Touch.

I have been using Plasq’s Comic Life program for about five years now.  I used it for a few old Marvel parodies we did and then more extensively to frame out and letter my Unhappy Smiley Face Man comic books.  To say I am a fan of their software is a gross understatement. When I heard that Plasq was working on an iPad version of their incredibly intuitive and fun to use “comic book maker” I was thrilled. If I have the choice between doing something on my laptop and doing something on my iPad, the iPad almost ALWAYS wins. If I can’t do something on the iPad and MUST do it on my Laptop I tend to spend a good amount of time bitching about how it would be better if I could just do it on my iPad.  When Plasq gave me the heads up that their software was available on the App Store, I was literally giddy with excitement. This thing is cool kids.  Real cool. It’s $7.99 to purchase and when you realize that the PC/Mac version hovers around $25.00 it becomes clear what a giant bargain this thing is. I want you to understand that I have had this app installed on my iPad at this point for about 17 minutes and have been able to use pictures I already had on my tablet to create the Supergirl comic on the right there as well as the Star Wars “Rancor” comic below(click to make them bigger).  Seventeen Minutes. Most of that time was spent figuring out what I could do with graphics that were already on my iPad because I am writing this on an airplane and as such have no access to my other files. (Good time to point out that I don’t own any of the images in the Comics that I created for this post. Lucasfilm owns the Star Wars stuff as well as a good portion of my disposable income and I have NO idea who Supergirl and her evil opposition are but someone sent me the pics and I thought they begged for some panel action. ) If you are a comic book artist, scan your stuff in and make use of the very flexible lettering tool. If you’re a photoshop artist – imagine what you can do – if you have kids that like to dress up as the Avengers, dress up the nighbor’s dog as a Skrull and start plotting an epic!  This app is awesome and is making me think it’s time for me to dust off a couple of comic book pitches I have laying around here and make them happen.

There are a lot of apps out there that claim they do this well.  I’ve spent a bunch of cash on them and I can tell you straight up – none of them come close to this. If I didn’t know better, I’d assume Plasq had used some kind of advanced mind control to peer into my skull and see exactly what I wanted. This is really just about perfect. I want more fonts though (and I’m fairly certain we’ll get more in a future update).  Seriously this is 5 out of 5. Go get it.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books, product reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comic Life for iPad is Awesomeness you can Touch.

  1. Pingback: New Comic Book! App for iPad | Geekpropaganda

Leave a Reply

