The Mego Museum is my favorite Time Machine

When I was a little kid there was only one thing I liked better than Star Wars and that was Superheroes.  Given the usual subject matter around here that probably comes as something of a shock to you.  My childhood playthings consisted almost exclusively of two varieties of toys. The original Kenner Star Wars Action Figure line that changed the world and Mego’s World Greatest Superhero line of 8 inch poseable dolls (Go ahead and lie to yourself all you like – they were DOLLS).  I was lucky enough to have just about every single one of these as well as the bridge of the Starship Enterprise, the Batmoblie and Mobile Crime lab as well as the cave beneath Wayne manor itself.  Sadly today I have only two Mego figures in my collection. The Joker and The Penguin – and they were purchased from a collectable shop for more money than should have been spent as all of the ones I grew up with have long since gone to that Gotham City in the sky. If Buzz Lightyear and Woody had been my toys that last Toy Story flick would have had a much darker ending. Sigh.

Brian Heiler and Scott C. Adams shared my love for Plastic heroes and happen to run the damn coolest Website dedicated to Mego that I have ever seen.  If it ever existed in a Mego assortment they not only know about it, they could probably tell you who sculpted the head and how many units shipped to the Mid Atlantic states.  Not only do they have a damn cool website – they produce a semi-regular podcast that is chock full of information on both classic and brand new Mego-type figures. (Dolls).  They have an active fan forum section populated by customizers who do some incredible things with 8 Inches of plastic.  The enthusiasm of their community there has led to them actually producing their own Mego figure which will soon be available from the Museum and a really nice catalog of toys that never actually existed.

If you have even a casual interest in these toys from the 1970s – be warned… clicking onto their site will result in the loss of all kinds of time for you as you spend hours gasping at pictures of stuff you probably didn’t even know existed.  I know I did. – it might also lead you to Ebay where you’ll spend money you didn’t expect to on toys you forgot you loved.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

