Forget Comic Books – Neal Adams Makes a Heck of an Oatmeal Cookie!

Neal gave Matt from England a cookie.

Matt from England ate the cookie.

Hey you want to meet an awesome legend at Comic Con? Find Neal Adams.  The first time I met him a year or so ago I have to admit that I was star struck. I grew up with Neal’s Iconic version of the Dark Knight – the version that in my opinion bridged the gap between Adam West and Frank Miller.  So that first time when I saw him sitting at a table working on a sketch I simply could not think of a damn thing to say beyond – “You’re Neal Adams . . . ”  He agreed that he was and spent about 10 minutes chatting with me like we were old friends.  It’s one of my favorite comic book memories and the fact that he handled it so masterfully makes me proud to tell people what a fool I must have looked like.  I’ve seen much less popular artists treat star struck fans like idiots and it must crush them. Saturday when I approached Mr. Adams at Wizard World’s Big Apple Comic Con, I was ready. This would be different. I wouldn’t freeze up, I was the picture of cool; he wasn’t going to need to “carry me”  – I had a plan. Then he made eye contact with me and I was all – “Holy Crap – You’re STILL Neal Adams . . .”  and it was true. He still was.

Matt from England liked the cookie!

Mr. Adams has graciously agreed to chat with me soon about comic books and the rides he designed for Universal Studios and the website he runs to teach kids about Science.  In true Renaissance fashion, he also makes Oatmeal Cookies that are available as “convention exclusives”.  If you are lucky enough to get one from him, it won’t let you down either.  Watch for our interview with Neal Adams as soon as I can manage to talk to him without sounding like an idiot. LOL.

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forget Comic Books – Neal Adams Makes a Heck of an Oatmeal Cookie!

  1. Mat Guy says:

    It was a damn good cookie people!! I recommend you try one!!

  2. Pingback: Wizard World’s Big Apple Comic Con! | Geekpropaganda

Leave a Reply

