Captain America – The First Avenger > Every Other Summer Movie Ever Made

When is the last time a two hour movie ended and you wanted more?  I don’t mean “I would like to see a sequel” more – I mean “NO! Please don’t end – Can’t we have just a little more NOW? Please?”

Director Joe Johnston, Chris Evans, Hugo Weaving and every single person who touched this thing probably right down to the caterer have produced what I feel is the greatest Marvel Comic Book movie ever made.

Did they change the source material? A bit. You won’t care. Is some of it hokey? It’s a comic book folks; this ain’t Macbeth.   What it is is FUN.  All kinds of Hydra fighting, Nazi hating, super soldier shield tossing American pride filled FUN.  Two hours of it and I can’t think of a wasted frame. It’s a TIGHT two hours that make you wish you were Steve Rogers – a kid from Brooklyn who just wants to do his part for his country – and do it well.

I don’t think I’ve seen a movie 2x in a theater since Tim Burton’s Batman – I’ll be paying cash money to see this one again. In Imax 2D if I can find it. (No reason to see this in 3D folks – sorry.)

I was so hyped up for this one that I was sure it would be disappointing . . . there was no way it could live up to the build up it was getting in my subconscious.   I am absolutely thrilled to report that my hopes were exceeded.

Stay after the credits for a peek at The Avengers and wish Joss Whedon good luck and God speed because to top this he’s going to need it.

 

 

About calmixx

Calmixx is the Pseudonym of New York Artist/Writer Brian Mc- - HEY wait a minute. Why have a cool Pseudonym if you're just gonna tell people it's a Pseudonym? Yeah you can just call me Calmixx for now. Maybe if we have a third date I'll give up the last name but not without dinner. Check out my silly little blog and let me know what you think. Because I care. I really do. Really. Honest. Sorta.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

